Mrs Jacinta N. Ogwo-Agu




The Michael Okpara University of agriculture, Umudike, is located nine Kilometres from Umuahia, the capital city of Abia State, en route to Ikot Ekpene. The Institution was established as a specialised university of Agriculture to provide practical knowledge for the transformation of Agriculture to achieve sustainable food and fibre production. The university received the mandate through Decree No. 48 of November 2, 1992 and its subsequent amendment to specifically impact agricultural education in a more scientific and practical manner with applied research and extension services to help achieve national self-sufficiency in food and fibre production, while also serving as a catalyst for development.

The Registry is a creation of statute as stated in Decree 48 above. It is the main hub of administration in the university. The Registrar is the head of the Registry Department and chief administrative officer of the university. The Registrar is the secretary to Council, Senate, Congregation, and Convocation

The office of the Registrar Coordinates and carries out communication emanating  from Council, Senate, Congregation, Convocation and Stakeholders like Students, Parents, Host communities, Ministries, Departments, Agencies (MDA)  etc

Major activities/duties of the Central Registry as stipulated by the Decree establishing the University includes the coordination, vetting and signing of the under listed documents:

Students Certificates
  •  Statement of Results
  •  Probation Letters
  •  Withdrawal Letters
  •  Contract Papers
  •  Appointment Letter
  •  Sabbatical Leave Letter
  •  Promotion Letter
  •  Confirmation Letters
  •  Condolence Letters
  •  Severance Letters etc

And also the Coordinating of the activities of the sub-units which includes:

1.    Academic Staff Matters (ASM)

2.    Senior Professional Administrative and technical Staff. (SPATS)

3.    Junior Staff Matters (JSM)

4.    General Admin

5.    Council Affairs

6.    Senate Affairs

7.    Academic affairs

8.    Admission Unit

9.    Pension Unit